Los Angeles Hit and Run Lawyer
Did you get in an accident? Did you leave the scene? You can be charged with a hit and run !
We hear about it almost every day in the news, a hit and run accident involving a collision with another car, a child riding a bike or a family crossing the street. A hit and run occurs when a person is driving his or her car and hits another vehicle, a person or object, and they do not stop. California law requires that if you are involved in any type of accident, you must stop and provide proper identification to law enforcement or the other people involved in the accident. Many people may become scared and run, sometimes due to the serious nature of the accident, their immigration status, lack of insurance, DUI (Driving Under the Influence) or a variety other reasons.
California Vehicle Code § 20001 states that the driver of a vehicle that gets into an accident which results in injury or death of another person has to immediately stop at the scene of the accident and abide by certain requirements such as: give his or her name, current residence address, the names and current residence addresses of any occupant of the driver's vehicle injured in the accident, the registration number of the vehicle he or she is driving, and the name and current residence address of the owner to the person struck or the driver or occupants of any vehicle collided with, and has to give the information to any traffic or police officer at the scene of the accident.
To convict you of a hit and run the prosecutor must prove beyond a reasonable doubt that you were involved in the accident; that you knew an accident occurred; that you knew someone was injured/killed or that the accident was of such a nature that it would be probable that someone would be injured/killed; and that you failed to abide in the requirements above.
As your defense attorney, our goal is to protect you and to assert any and all defenses applicable to your case.
We can help you if you are under investigation for or have been accused of a hit and run. We can speak to police on your behalf. Our lawyers will listen to your side of the story and can help build a strong proper defense for your case. You can feel secure in knowing that we are here for you and we will make every effort to keep you out of jail.
If convicted of a hit and run in California, depending on the seriousness of your case and if any one died as a result of the accident, you could be facing a vehicular manslaughter charge in addition to severe penalties which may include the following:
- Up to 9 years to life in prison
- Felony charge
- Up to $10,000 fine
- Revocation of your driver's license
- Impoundment of your vehicle
- DMV (Department of Motor Vehicles) school
- Points on DMV record
- Community service
- Criminal record for life
Los Angeles Hit and Run and DUI Defense Lawyers
By hiring a professional Los Angeles hit and run attorney, you give yourself the opportunity to receive only a minimal sentence, possibly avoiding jail time altogether. We understand all areas of DMV and criminal law and we will look for every opportunity to maintain your freedom. Contact our office today to speak with a knowledgeable Los Angeles hit and run lawyer at: 1-818-986-2092.